Skip to content

Edmonton Music Awards lists St. Albert nominees

The 2019 Edmonton Music Awards announced their list of names this year and it includes the likes of Scenic Route to Alaska, Martin Kerr, Nuela Charles, Rellik, The Dungarees and Striker.

The 2019 Edmonton Music Awards announced their list of names and it includes the likes of Scenic Route to Alaska, Martin Kerr, Nuela Charles, Rellik, The Dungarees and Striker.

Winners will be broadcast at the Edmonton Music Awards Gala on Thursday, June 27 at Winspear Centre.

A big change this year is the elimination of gender splitting categories Male Artist of the Year and Female Artist of the Year.

“Our focus is music. We’re not trying to be everything to everybody. But in music there is a diversity of vibrant and personal genres and ethnocultures, and we want to highlight the differences. This is a small change. We live in a community with all types of genres and someone needs to recognize them,” said Steve Derpack, director of sponsorship.

Gala performers include instrumentalist David Jay, blues singer David Sures, metal band Fire Next Time, dance electronic artist iamhill, pop singer Jenesia and folk artist Maddy Storvold.

Below is a list of St. Albert connected nominees recognized for their achievements:

• Album of the Year

Joe Nolan – Cry Baby

Folk roots artist Joe Nolan grew up in Fort Saskatchewan but spent several summers busking at St. Albert Farmers’ Market entertaining crowds. His presence added colour to the market and we continue rooting for him.

• Pop Recording of the Year

Shay Espositio – All We Ever Do

The singer-songwriter recording artist was nominated twice for the Edmonton Music Awards. While the third time may be lucky, she’s up against Martin Kerr’s nationally popular You’re Amazing.

• Country Recording of the Year

Dan Davidson – Let’s Go There

This St. Albert singer-songwriter appears to have a golden touch. Every single he releases is up for an award. But this year he’s competing against a heavy-hitter, The Dungarees single Don’t Hold Back.

• Metal Recording of the Year

All Else Fails – A Dream of Names

This nationally recognized band, led by St. Albert’s Barrett Klesko, has made its mark for their aggressive dark brand of metal. One of the best in its genre, the band is a strong contender in this category.

• R&B/Soul Recording of the Year

Lia Cole – You Lost Me

As one of the region’s most respected pop artists, Cole's You Lost Me is a bold power girl anthem. However, she’s up against Nuela Charles’ Do It Right and Ann Vriend’s It’s Happening. This category is one to watch.

• Instrumental Recording of the Year and Jazz Recording of the Year

Sandro Dominelli – Joker Wild

A nationally respected jazz drummer and founder of St. Albert’s Dominelli School of Music, he is up for two awards. A single from the album, Here and Now, it also features Chris Tarry and Rez Abbasi.

• Roots/Folk Recording of the Year

Joe Nolan – Another Dead Poet

In a second nomination, Nolan was inspired to write this song after almost quitting the business at a time when the struggles of building a career seemed insurmountable.

• Rising Star (under 18)

Amanda Penner – Rose Coloured Glasses

A finalist for the Canada 150 Songwriting Competition, Penner writes story songs with melancholy melodies and thought-provoking lyrics. A strong supporter of community, Penner asked Sandro Dominelli to produce Rose Coloured Glasses.

Hailey Benedict – Crazy

A second St. Albert nominee in this category, Hailey Benedict is a young singer-songwriter that began leaving her musical footprint around the region before reaching double digits. Crazy is her latest and most sophisticated release to date.

• Music Video of the Year

Dan Davidson – Cinderella

The St. Albert recording artist’s latest album is titled Juliet, a nod to his young daughter. The Cinderella track is accompanied by a Lego-inspired video, a clever blend of Disney fairytale and stop-motion animation.

Tickets are $20 and can be purchased a the Winspear, 780-428-1414 or



Anna Borowiecki

About the Author: Anna Borowiecki

Read more