Skip to content

Western Canadian Music Awards announce 2019 nominees

Talent from Alberta extends beyond our borders

The Western Canadian Music Awards recently announced the 2019 nominees. The roster includes some of the best, such as David Gogo, Nuela Charles, Al Muirhead, Jill Barber and The Dungarees.

“We are excited to share our nominee names for the 2019 edition of the Western Canadian Awards,” said BreakOut West interim executive director Nathalie Kleinschmidt.

“We saw nominees from all four western provinces and three northern territories this year, with a strong showing from the north, reflecting the dynamism taking place there. Our region is well-represented by the diversity and talent of our artists, and the music they bring to the rest of Canada and beyond our borders.”

Alberta is a strong contender to win Country Artist of the Year with Brett Kissel, Dan Davidson and George Canyon. They  compete in this tight category alongside the Hunter Brothers from Saskatchewan and British Columbia’s Aaron Pritchett, this year’s Rainmaker Rodeo headliner.

St. Albert’s own Dan Davidson just released a new seven-track EP, Juliet, in honour of his youngest daughter. Formerly lead singer of rock band Tupelo Honey, Davidson is one of a handful of rock artists who has transitioned successfully to country. He's won multiple awards from Alberta Country Music Awards as well as several nominations for Western Canadian Music Awards and The Canadian Country Music Association.

Kissel, who also lived in St. Albert for about a year before heading out to Nashville, is a two-time Juno winner, including the 2019 Country Album of the Year for We Were That Song. He’s also a multiple CCMA Awards recipient and toured with country superstar Brad Paisley among others.

Also vying for top honours is Canyon, one of Canada’s biggest country names with 12 albums notched on his belt. He just released a new single, Out of This Town, and is on the Hit After Hit Tour with Doc Walker, Charlie Major and newcomer Manny Blu.

In the Roots Solo Artist, Joe Nolan – he may not be St. Albert resident, but in his high school years, the former Fort Saskatchewan singer-songwriter busked at the St. Albert Farmers' Market for several summers.

Nolan is an artist daring enough to bare his soul in the music and vulnerable enough to share his mistakes and poor choices. He just released Crybaby, his third album.

Lastly, in the Video Director of the Year, Travis Nesbitt is up for The Dungarees' brand new single, Don’t Hold Back. Nesbitt, former lead singer of alternative rock band Social Code, transitioned into design and videography after the St. Albert band disbanded in 2012.

A complete list of nominees is available at Winners of the artistic categories will be announced on Thursday, Oct. 3 at the WCAM Awards reception in Whitehorse. The Industry Awards will instead be held at the Industry Awards Brunch on Oct. 5. Tickets coming soon.


Anna Borowiecki

About the Author: Anna Borowiecki

Read more