Skip to content

Trustees sworn in for St. Paul Education

Heather Starosielski has been renamed as board chair, while newly-elected trustee Darcy Younghans has been appointed as vice-chair for St. Paul Education board.

ST. PAUL - On Wednesday the newly elected board of trustees for St. Paul Education was sworn into office, and an organizational meeting was held.

Board chair Heather Starosielski will remain in the position for another term. Serving as vice-chair is Darcy Younghans, one of the four new trustees sitting around the table. Joining Younghans as the newest members of the board are Jan Rajoo, Lorette Andersen and Sylvie Smyl.

Returning to the table is Starosielski and Dwight Wiebe.

"It's a privilege to continue to serve as Chair of St. Paul Education and I want to thank my fellow trustees for their support," said Starosielski. "I look forward to making decisions that are student-driven and working with all of the new trustees. Even with the uncertainty of the pandemic, our goals remain the same: improving student achievement and strengthening relationships.”

Trustees were also assigned to a variety of committees during the Oct. 27 organizational meeting.

Regular school board meetings are scheduled for the second Wednesday of each month. As a result of provincial Covid-19 health measures, meetings will be conducted in a hybrid format of Zoom and in-person, according to information from St. Paul Education.

Outgoing trustees Ruven Rajoo, Lorne Young and Justin Anderson were thanked for their service during Wednesday's meeting.


Janice Huser

About the Author: Janice Huser

Janice Huser has been with the St. Paul Journal since 2006. She is a graduate of the SAIT print media journalism program, is originally from St. Paul and has a passion for photography.
Read more