Skip to content

Canadian Country Music Award nominees announced

Eight St. Albert-linked artists recognized
2407 CCMA Awards - Brett Kissel 1-
Never one to disappoint, Brett Kissel is recognized in five categories at the Canadian Country Music Awards broadcast Sept. 27 on Global.

The Canadian Country Music Association just announced the nominees for the 38th Canadian Country Music Awards.

Reigning Female Artist of the Year Tenille Townes leads the pack with six nominations, while Dean Brody and Brett Kissel tie as the second-most nominated with five each.

The James Barker Band, The Reklaws and Dallas Smith were selected with four each. Following them with three apiece are Jade Eagleson, Hunter Brothers, Mackenzie Porter and The Washboard Union.

Kissel, who lived in St. Albert for a year before transitioning to Nashville, is up for Entertainer of the Year, Album of the Year "Now or Never", Male Artist of the Year, Record Producer of the Year and Fan Choice.

Aaron Goodvin, a Paul Kane High grad, is recognized as Interactive Artist of the Year and Songwriter of the Year for "Good Ol’ Bad Days" along with cowriters Skip Black and Matt Nolen.

One of St. Albert’s longtime favourites, Dan Davidson, is also nominated as Interactive Artist of the Year.

In the Industry Awards, former Social Code lead singer turned visual artist Travis Nesbitt is up as Video Director of the Year. His extensive body of film work showcases a diversity of artists including Jess Moskaluke, The Dungarees, Ryan Lindsay, Clayton Bellamy, Black Mountain Whiskey Rebellion and good friend Dan Davidson.

The Drummer of the Year category has attracted three more locally connected musicians – Greg Williamson, Mathew Atkins, and Ben Bradley while Matt McKay is nominated as Guitar Player of the Year.

The ceremonies air on Sept. 27 on Global and will feature presentations, performances, collaborations and a few heart-tugging moments.

To view a complete list of nominees, visit

Anna Borowiecki

About the Author: Anna Borowiecki

Read more